Life Unfolded

As I sit in my room on a gloomy Sunday evening, enjoying the serene beauty of the hills and sipping hot coffee, I ponder upon a few things related to life and its purpose.

Life has its own way of making things happen and I’m pretty sure most of you know that by now. But for the rest of you who feel like ‘life has no purpose for us’ and all of that, well….I really hope this article is helpful because all I’m going to do is just pen my thoughts down; through all the stuff I have experienced in my life, so far.

There will be times when you feel like life is total bulls**t because nothing will be turning out how you imagined it. I’ve felt that way for a long, long time too. But here’s what I realized. It’s not life that tends to disappoint us. In fact, it’s we ourselves who do that. We expect things out of each and every aspect of our life. And that’s simply wrong. Reason being, we tend to imagine the perfect situations and when nothing turns out the way we imagined, well its needless to say- disappointments and disappointments all along the way.

Our lives are planned out for us. They always were. And I’m not saying that because I’m a spiritual person, I’m an atheist for all of you who didn’t know. But I truly feel like our lives are planned out. Our destiny though? Not so much. The strength in us can help change our destiny. Nothing in life can be perfect. You cannot have the perfect job, the perfect family, the perfect boyfriend, the perfect husband, the perfect relationship, the perfect friendship, the perfect anything. Life will be so much more peaceful and stress-free once you replace the term ‘perfect’  with ‘right’. The right job, the right relationship, the right guy, and the list is never-ending.

We all just have one life to live, so why not make the most of it? Why not be spontaneous and have fun? Why think and ruin our peace of mind? I have always been the kind of person who would over-think, analyze every detail of my life, and that did no good for me. It ruined my peace of mind, my happiness. I wasn’t happy with anything no matter how much I tried, I wasn’t fun. I was just depressed, distant from everything and everyone. But now that I have realized how badly that brought me down I decided to make a few changes for my own betterment. And the changes that I made were to just relax, have fun, to not over think, to not have expectations from anything or anyone at all. And believe it or not, I’m a much happier soul now than I was before I made these changes.

Let’s shift onto the purpose of this one life we have. For many of us, life’s purpose would be fame, success, etc. But that cannot keep you happy and at peace all your life. On the other hand, what actually would keep you happy and peaceful for the rest of your life is being a good human being. Forgive and forget, be nice to people no matter how they treat you but at the same time remember that there is something known as self respect. Don’t lose yourself along the way and even if you do, be strong enough to get back on your feet. Don’t compete with people in terms of what they own and how successful they are. This is your life to shape and henceforth, live. Not theirs.

People will come and go. They will hurt you but won’t be there to pick the pieces up. But it’s not their life. It’s yours. You need to be strong enough to pick yourself up no matter what. Time heals but at the same time it gives you strength. Strength to be your own master, strength to change your destiny, strength to make fruitful decisions in life. Don’t do the things you don’t like or are not passionate about. Do what makes you happy. Learn to stand up for yourself. I know all this is easier said than done. But it’s not like it’s impossible to achieve all these things. You just need to be strong and patient.

Relationships come and go, and so does love. Don’t depend on it to make life decisions. Be independent. Anger isn’t the solution to your every problem. Been there, done that. But believe me, now that I’m trying to be a better person, life has a whole new meaning for me. I should wrap this up now but after I put across one more point. Don’t listen to people. Don’t give them the decision-making power. People love talking and gossiping but come on! Why should that bother you? They will be judgmental but hey! They haven’t been through any of those things that you have. And even if they have been through those things, the level of intensity would be different. Live in the moment instead of planning everything out.

“You’ve only got one life. Make the most of it.”

I really hope this article is of great help to all of you reading it. I would love to talk with you over emails if there’s ever a time when you feel like you need someone to just vent out your feelings to without being judged for the decisions you’ve made. You will find my email address in the ‘Contact Us’ section.

Leave a comment